top of page

Board of Directors

Mayerthorpe REA is governed by a 11-person Board of Directors; individuals who are members of the REA.The Board of Directors is responsible for the management of the affairs of the association deemed in the best interests of the membership as a whole. The Board meets on a regular basis to review the ongoing direction and business of the REA. Directors of Mayerthorpe REA live and work in the communities the REA serves and are elected by the membership at the Annual General Meeting.

Board Chairperson - Dannie Fischer

Vice-Chair - Jason French

Second Vice-Chair - Elvira Adams​

Directors - Trevor Lyster, Wesley Henning, Scott Olsen, Holly Bauer, Ed Strasbourg, Ted Commandeur, Sandra Hagman & Kim Lane

Established in 1953 the Mayerthorpe REA has been providing power to rural areas of County of Lac Ste. Anne and Woodlands County for 71 years. We are a member owned co-op and operate under a not-for-profit business model focusing on providing our members "at cost" services, unlike Investor Owned Utilities (IOU's) who's mandate is corporate profits and stockholder dividends.


Why Join a REA?

​As the owner of an electric distribution system, the REA provides operational decisions and approvals through their respective boards. REA's provide services at cost to their members and no taxes are assessed. Financial savings remain in the community. A deposit reserve fund is built through charges assessed on the monthly utility bills and belongs to the REA members. Excess funds can be returned to the members through lower power costs.

bottom of page